Home » Book & Literature Review » The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fu*k | Mark Manson
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fu*k
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fu*k | Mark Manson

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fu*k | Mark Manson

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fu*k

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fu*k
Mark Manson

Review: Sidra Javed

Let me introduce the book in its own words first and then we shall continue with my own review.
“This book will not teach you how to gain or achieve but rather how to lose or let go. It will teach you to take inventory of your life and scrub out all but the most important items. It will teach you to trust that when you fall back you will still be ok.”
I went wrong with the order of these books as I read. Everything is Fuked first and this one later. That one didn’t inspire me much and I felt it was more like a random talk. Then recently read ‘Will’ where Mark is a co-author and absolutely loved his style so decided to give this book a chance and I am glad I did right.

As the title suggests the book is about eliminating the unnecessary attention we give to our life situations. Instead focus on few things and do them rightly. Don’ t overwhelm yourself with being the best or the most happy. Let’s more focus on what’s true, immediate and important. He talks about social media too and its playing with our mental peace. There is a bombardment of advertisements and we are constantly comparing ourselves with the picture perfect, shinning and happy-go-lucky social media influencers. We start questioning our own life choices and this makes us less satisfied as it enforces the fact that you lack something.

We keep thinking we are not good enough. Things aren’t that great which leaves us heartbroken. While pain is an integral part of life but ignoring or avoiding it also causes pain. We must try to preserve our energies and give fuck about things that really matter, things that influence our life situations, things that create a significant change.

We need to accept the fact that life is not a bed of roses. It will definitely suck at times but it’s all right. Some sort of suffering is inevitable and no matter what you do life is comprised of failure, loss, regrets and even death. The only way to deal with it is to learn how to bear it all.
Book is divided into chapters with very catchy names like Don’t try , Happiness is a problem, You are not special etc. which compel you to read on.

Mark uses plenty of examples from his own life and laughs at them with you. This will make you feel if he can do it so can you. The writing style is very informal and seems like a dear friend is talking to you which adds to the charm .
It’s worth a read I recommend it.

Previous Blog The Sky is Pink

About Sidra Javed

Sidra Javed is a home maker yet reading enthusiast. She loves reading different genres and likes to share her views with others, hoping this will inspire others to take up reading books. On the contrary she's interested in Calligraphy and Art too. She loves adding creativity and delicacy in food.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *